Semifinalists Set At the 2023 ITA Tennis-Point National Summer Championships


Tournament Page | Photo Gallery | Live Stream Recordings

TALLAHASSEE, FL – With three days of action now complete, the singles and doubles semifinalists have now been determined for the 2023 ITA Tennis-Point National Summer Championships powered by WTN. 

On what was a day full of upsets, both of the tournaments top-seeded players saw their runs come to an end on Sunday as Jacob Bickersteth (Michigan – 2021 & 2022 Singles Champion) and Julia Fliegner (Michigan – 2022 Singles Champion) both fell in today’s singles action. 

In the men’s singles draw, Azariah Rusher (Florida State, 7.1 WTN), Kenta Miyoshi (Illinois, 5.1 WTN), James Connel (Florida State, 4.5 WTN), and Jelani Sarr (South Carolina, 6.7 WTN) all advanced to the semifinal round of play. 

All men’s singles matches on the day ended in straight sets with Nicholast Herdoiza (Northwestern, 12.0 WTN) outing Bickersteth in the round of sixteen 7-6, 6-4 before ultimately falling to Rusher in the quarterfinals later in the day. 

From the women’s singles draw, it will be Adeline Flach (Auburn, 13.9 WTN), Bayley Sheinin (Michigan, 14.4 WTN), Lily Jones (Michigan, 10.2 WTN), and Jennifer Riester (Northwestern, 13.8 WTN) competing in tomorrow’s semifinal round of play. 

Flach took down defending champion, Fliegner, 7-6 (5), 0-6, 12-10 to advance to the semifinals, while second-seeded Katja Wiersholm (Wisconsin, 9.2 WTN) was taken out of the tournament by Ariel Johnson (Wisconsin, 15.3 WTN) who later fell to Riester in the quarterfinals.

In doubles, three of the top four seeded teams have made their way into the semifinals on both the men’s and women’s sides of play. 

Across the men’s draw, the semifinals will pair Thomas Kennedy (13.6 WTN) and James Connel (5.4 WTN) (Florida State) against Thomas Navarro (14.8 WTN) (UNLV) and Evan Lee (14.2 WTN) (Notre Dame), while Azariah Rusher (16.5 WTN) and Justin Lyons (16.5 WTN) (Florida State) will take on Ekansh Kumar (13.2 WTN) (Indiana) and Davis Wiley (21.1 WTN) (Richmond). 

For the women, it will be Julia Fliegner (14.5 WTN) and Lily Jones (14.7 WTN) (Michigan) taking on Ali Despain (13.4 WTN) and Adeline Flach (15.9 WTN) (Auburn) in the top half of the bracket while Ellison Reynoldson (22.6 WTN) and Ariel Johnson (15.0 WTN) (Wisconsin) will be up against Bayley Sheinin (22.4 WTN) and Merri Kelly (21.3 WTN) (Michigan)

Tomorrow, play is set to begin from the Scott Speicher Memorial Tennis Center at 8 am (ET) with singles play to lead followed by doubles play at 1 pm (ET). Be sure to follow the ITA online and on social media to stay up to date with all of the latest news.

- Advertisement -
College Tennis Alumni Network


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here