Finalists Determined for the 2023 ITA Tennis-Point National Summer Championships


Tournament Page | Photo Gallery | Live Stream Recordings

TALLAHASSEE, FL – After five rounds of play the finalists are now set for the 2023 ITA Tennis-Point National Summer Championships powered by WTN. 

Braving the heat and the draws full of talented players, each of the singles and doubles finalists will look to put the exclamation point on their time here in Tallahassee by taking home championships in tomorrow’s finals. 

Beginning in men’s singles, it will be a battle of the No. 3 and No. 4 seeded players as the third-seed James Connel (Florida State, 4.5 WTN) will face off against the fourth-seed Kenta Miyoshi (Illinois, 5.1 WTN) for the title. 

The hometown player, Connel, made quick work of Jelani Sarr (South Carolina, 6.7 WTN), winning 6-1, 7-5 over the former No. 13 ranked recruit according to the national rankings. Connel also reached the semifinals of the 2022 ITA National Summer Championship before falling to the eventual champion, Jacob Bickersteth (Michigan). 

On the other side of the net will be Miyoshi, who as a freshman in the 2022-23 season, went 15-16 overall primarily from the No. 5 singles position for the Fighting Illini. The rising sophomore will look to kickstart his 2023-24 season with a big win tomorrow to claim another National Summer Championship for a Big Ten representative. 

For the women, it will be the eighth-seed Adeline Flach (Auburn, 13.9 WTN) taking on the third-seed Lily Jones (Michigan, 10.2 WTN) in the women’s singles final.

Coming off a statement win over the tournament’s top seed the day before, Flach kept the momentum rolling in today’s semifinal, beating Bayley Sheinin (Michigan, 14.4 WTN) 7-5, 2-6, 10-5 to advance. Flach will have a chance to sweep both of the women’s titles tomorrow as her and her partner have also advanced to the women’s doubles final. 

Meanwhile, Jones continued the dominance that she has displayed all tournament, beating Jennifer Riester (Northwestern, 13.8 WTN) 6-3, 6-1 to earn her spot in the final. Jones will try to be the second-straight Michigan player to take home the women’s singles crown as Julia Fliegner did so last season.  

In doubles, Thomas Kennedy (Furman, 13.6 WTN) and James Connel (Florida State, 5.4 WTN) have been crowned champions after Ekansh Kumar (Indiana, 13.2 WTN) and Davis Wiley (Richmond, 21.1 WTN) withdrew after their semifinal win. 

On the women’s side of play, Ali Despain (Auburn, 13.4 WTN) and Adeline Flach (Auburn, 15.9 WTN) will be facing Ellison Reynoldson (Wisconsin, 22.6 WTN) and Ariel Johnson (Wisconsin, 15.0 WTN) in tomorrow’s final. 

The fourth-seeded pairing of Despain and Flach outed the top-seeds, Julia Fliegner (Michigan, 14.5 WTN) and Lily Jones (14.7 WTN) in today’s semifinals, winning 8-3 over the Wolverine pairing. Reynoldson and Johnson had a walkover in today’s semifinal action. 

Play will begin at 8 am (ET) tomorrow here in Tallahassee, with the men’s and women’s singles finals going on court first. Be sure to follow the ITA online and on social media to stay up to date with all of the latest news.

- Advertisement -
College Tennis Alumni Network


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here