The ITA announced today that Oklahoma State University will replace the University of Washington as the host institution for the 2021 ITA National Women’s Team Indoor Championship.

“We want to express our sincere gratitude to Robin Stephenson and the University of Washington for their hard work over the last few months in trying to find a path forward for the 2021 ITA National Women’s Team Indoors,” ITA Senior Director Cory Brooks said. “Unfortunately, the logistical challenges associated with the COVID-19 pandemic were too much to overcome. We look forward to returning to Seattle for the women’s event in the near future.”

The 2021 event will now be held February 5-7 at the Greenwood Tennis Center on the campus of Oklahoma State University in Stillwater. Oklahoma State will receive the host site wild card and therefore be exempted from Kickoff Weekend participation.

“We are excited for the opportunity to host the ITA National Team Indoor Championship and look forward to helping create a memorable experience for every student athlete,” OSU Women’s Head Coach Chris Young said. “After having the NCAA Championships cancelled last spring, we are thrilled with the opportunity to host the next team championship event played.”

“Huge thanks to Chris Young and Oklahoma State University for their willingness to take on the mantle of host institution so late in this process,” Brooks said. “We’re confident Chris and his team will do a great job putting together a first-class event under difficult circumstances. We know how disappointing it was for OSU to have the NCAA Championships cancelled this past May, so to be able to provide them an opportunity to host a national championship event so quickly is an added bonus.”

The 2021 ITA Kickoff Weekend Draft will be held on Monday, December 7th with the women’s draft beginning at 12 pm EST followed by the men’s draft at 3 pm EST. 

This year’s Kickoff Weekend will be held January 22-25 and will consist of seven regional locations hosting four-team pods within each gender. The seven regional winners, along with our national hosts, will then feed into the eight-team ITA National Team Indoor Championships in February. The ITA Women’s National Team Indoor Championship is one of six national team indoor championships administered by the ITA each spring.

- Advertisement -
College Tennis Alumni Network


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here