DII Women Begin Race to First Indoor Title Friday

ITA Wilson tennis balls

The top Division II Women’s programs will fight to ink their name in the history books as the first-ever ITA Division II National Women’s Team Indoor champions. The championship, hosted by the University of Central Oklahoma, will take place in Edmond, Oklahoma at the Oak Tree Country Club just 20 miles away from where the inaugural DII Men Indoor Championship is taking place.

Competition will be fierce during the first Indoor championship; seven of the eight teams fall within the top 10 programs in the current Oracle ITA rankings. The field consists of No. 1 Barry University, No. 3 Columbus State University, No. 4 University of Indianapolis, No. 5 Nova Southeastern University, No. 6 Saint Leo University, No. 8 Hawaii Pacific University, No. 9 University of Central Oklahoma, and Washburn University.

The No. 1 seed Barry Buccaneers will look to follow up their 2019 NCAA national championship with an ITA Indoor national championship. They will face No. 8 seed Washburn in the opening round. Barry has yet to record a loss this season.

Barry boasts the current UTR ITA Division II Women’s Player of the Week, Xiyao Wang. Adel-Byanu Abidullina of UCO was awarded the first UTR ITA Player of the Week and will be competing as well.

After dropping their first match of the season to Charleston Southern, No. 2 seed Columbus State is a strong contender for the title. The Cougars will have to go through host No. 9 Central Oklahoma in order to take home the trophy.

With three programs competing, the Sunshine State Conference will be the best represented at the championship. Conference foes Nova Southeastern and Saint Leo will face off in the opening round of the championship.

The Championship will run Feb. 28 – March 1 in Edmond. Live results will be provided by Tennis Ticker. 

- Advertisement -
College Tennis Alumni Network


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here