Men’s And Women’s Teams Announced For 2019 Oracle ITA DIII National Team Indoor Championships


TEMPE, Ariz. – The Intercollegiate Tennis Association and Oracle announced the fields for the 2019 Oracle ITA Division III Men’s and Women’s National Team Indoor Championships on Wednesday, August 29, 2018. With the two host sites receiving automatic bids, the 14 at-large programs were chosen based on their final 2018 Oracle ITA national ranking.

Case Western Reserve University will serve as host of the men’s tournament, while The University of the South is the women’s host for the third consecutive year. The men’s championship takes place February 22-24, 2019, at the Cleveland Racquet Club in Cleveland, Ohio. The women’s tournament runs March 1-3, 2019, at the Ensworth School in Nashville, Tennessee.

Emory has dominated the men’s and women’s tournaments in recent years, with the men’s team winning three straight titles, and the women two consecutive championships. Both teams will be back in 2019 to defend their respective titles.

Carnegie Mellon University, Chicago, Pomona-Pitzer and Washington University in St. Louis will also have its men’s and women’s teams compete in the National Team Indoor Championships. Both men’s and women’s fields feature five teams that ended 2018 ranked in the Top 10.

At each tournament, Friday and Saturday matches will be played to completion with Sunday matches playing to clinch. Doubles will be an 8-game pro set, tiebreak at 7-games-all using regular scoring. After a 5-minute intermission, singles matches will be best-of-three sets using regular scoring. Once a dual match has been clinched, any singles matches that extend to a third set will play a 10-point super tiebreaker in place of a full third set. There will be no 5-minute warm-up with opponents prior to doubles and singles play.

2019 Oracle ITA Division III National Men’s Team Indoor Championship
Rankings in parenthesis
Chicago (No. 3)
Emory (No. 4)
Gustavus Adolphus (No. 8)
Washington University in St. Louis (No. 9)
Carnegie Mellon (No. 10)
Pomona-Pitzer (No. 12)
Whitman (No. 13)
Case Western Reserve (Host – No. 18)

2019 Oracle ITA Division III National Women’s Team Indoor Championship
Claremont-Mudd-Scripps (No. 1)
Emory (No. 2)
Pomona-Pitzer (No. 7)
MIT (No. 9)
Chicago (No. 10)
Carnegie Mellon (No. 11)
Sewanee (Host – No. 12)
Washington University in St. Louis (No. 13)

- Advertisement -
College Tennis Alumni Network


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here