The 2021 ITA Division I National Men’s Team Indoor Championship All-Tournament Team and Most Outstanding Player were announced on Wednesday, as voted on by the eight participating head coaches.

No. 1 Singles: Carl Soderlund, Virginia
def. Alastair Gray (TCU) 4-6, 6-3, 6-4
vs. William Blumberg (UNC) 7-5, 6-7 (6), 0-1, unfinished
def. Alex Brown (ILL) 6-3, 3-6, 6-2

No. 2 Singles: Luc Fomba, TCU
def. Inaki Montes (UVA) 6-4, 3-6, 6-0
def. Johannus Monday (TENN) 6-4, 7-6 (2)
def. Riley Smith (USC) 7-6 (6), 7-6 (6)

No. 3 Singles: Micah Braswell, Texas
Vs. Sven Lah (BU) 6-2, 2-6, 2-3, unfinished
def. Stefan Dostanic (USC) 6-4, 5-7, 6-4
def. Martim Prata (TENN) 4-6, 6-3, 6-2

No. 4 Singles: Brian Cernoch, North Carolina
def. Giles Hussey (TENN) 6-4, 6-4
def. Ryan Goetz (UVA) 7-6 (6), 4-6, 6-2
def. Nick Stachowiak (BU) 7-6 (3), 7-5

No. 5 Singles: Charlie Broom, Baylor
def. Chih Chi Huang (TEX) 6-3, 6-4
def. Hunter Heck (ILL) 6-0, 6-2
def. Josh Peck (UNC) 6-0, 6-3

No. 6 Singles: Simon Soendergaard, North Carolina
def. Pat Harper (TENN) 6-2, 6-3
def. Gianni Ross (UVA) 6-2, 6-4
vs. Spencer Furman (BU) 6-2, 3-6, 3-3, unfinished

No. 1 Doubles: William Blumberg/Brian Cernoch, North Carolina
def. Adam Walton/Pat Harper (TENN) 6-4
def. Carl Soderlund/William Woodall (UVA) 6-4
vs. Sven Lah/Constantin Frantzen (BU) 5-5, unfinished

No. 2 Doubles: Bradley Frye/Stefan Dostanic, USC
def. Alex Brown/Hunter Heck (ILL) 6-3
def. Payton Holden/Chih Chi Huang (TEX) 6-1
def. Bertus Kruger/Jake Fearnley (TCU) 6-3

No. 3 Doubles: Inaki Montes de la Torre/Jeffrey von der Schulenburg, Virginia
Vs. Bertus Kruger/Jake Fearnley (TCU) 4-5, unfinished
def. Benjamin Sigouin/Rinky Hijikata (UNC) 6-4
def. Lucas Horve/Vuk Budic (ILL) 6-2

ITA DI Men’s Indoors Most Outstanding Player – Brian Cernoch, North Carolina

North Carolina’s Brian Cernoch was a pivotal player in North Carolina’s second Indoor title. The junior Tar Heel clinched every single match for Carolina. Cernoch is the second Tar Heel to be named the Most Outstanding Player after Ronnie Schneider in 2016.

Cernoch went undefeated on the weekend — winning three singles and two doubles matches with the third going unfinished. Cernoch capped the championship with a trophy-clinching victory over No. 74 Nick Stachowiak in straight sets. Only one of his singles matches during the championship went to a third set — Cernoch defeated Virginia’s Goetz 7-6 (8-6), 4-6, 6-2 to send the Heels to the finals.

In doubles, Cernoch dominated at No. 1 alongside Blumberg. The pair downed Tennessee’s Walton and Harper and Virginia’s Soderlund and Woodall to the tune of 6-4. In the championship match, the doubles point was clinched before Cernoch and Blumberg could finish their match against No. 10 Lah and Frantzen.

This is the 14th annual ITA Division I National Men’s Team Indoor All-Tournament Team. Past winners of the Most Outstanding Player award are Virginia’s Somdev Devvarman (2008); Virginia’s Sanam Singh (2009); Virginia’s Michael Shabaz (2010); Virginia’s Alex Domijan (2011); USC’s Steve Johnson (2012); Virginia’s Alex Domijan (2013); Ohio State’s Peter Kobelt (2014); Oklahoma’s Alex Ghilea (2015), North Carolina’s Ronnie Schneider (2016), Ohio State’s Mikael Torpegaard (2017), Wake Forest’s Petros Chrysochos (2018), Ohio State’s JJ Wolf (2019), and USC’s Daniel Cukierman (2020).

- Advertisement -
College Tennis Alumni Network


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here