2023 ITA Regional Small College Championships – Week Two Recap


In week two of the 2023 ITA Regional Small College Championships, twenty-three regional championships took place on campuses around the country across the Division II, Division III, NAIA, and Junior College levels. 

Winners from the championships will qualify to compete in the upcoming ITA Cup in Rome, Georgia that will be held from October 12-16. 

At the Division II level, five regions competed this weekend with many schools finding repeated success. In the Southeast Region, Flagler dominated the singles competition with Jacopo Denitto winning the men’s singles title and Nadja Meier taking the women’s singles title. Columbus State’s Justin Welz and Camilo Cano took home the men’s doubles title and Columbus State’s Mariana Ramirez and Nikoline Gullacksen continued the trend by taking home the women’s doubles title. 

Players from Lynn University in the Men’s and Women’s South Region also had a dominant weekend in Lakeland, Florida with three out of the four titles going to the Knights, Salma Djoubri winning the women’s singles title, Jonathan Olive-Blanco & Gianmarco Amatiste winning the men’s doubles title, and Deniza Marcinkevica and Greta Schieroni winning the women’s doubles title.  

Other schools at the Division II level that took home titles this weekend included Azusa Pacific with Cristiana Miruna Tudor capturing the women’s singles title and Miha Velicki and Elias Walter taking home the men’s doubles title. 

At the Division III level, George Fox University claimed both the men’s singles and doubles titles in the Men’s Northwest Division with Eli Mizerski taking the singles and Hunter Fujimori and Zach Moore taking the doubles. In the Women’s New England Division, Matia Cristiani of Babson securely booked her ticket to Rome, Georgia with a win in both the Singles A draw and the doubles draw alongside partner Olivia Soffer. 

Other standout performances at the Division III level include Washington University St. Louis in the Women’s Central Region with Sylwia Mikos winning the singles and Rena Lin and Oliwia Mikos taking the doubles. In the Women’s Northeast Region, players from the NYU Women’s team put on an impressive performance with the singles title going to junior Jimena Menendez and the doubles title going to junior Dakota Fordham and graduate student Isabella Hartman. 

At the NJCAA & CCCAA levels, players from schools such as Eastern Florida, Abraham Baldwin, Coastal Alabama South, and Wallace State also made statements at the Men’s and Women’s Southeast Region and will be making their way to Rome for the ITA Cup next month. 

A complete list of Week Two ITA Regional Small College Championship flight winners can be found below:

Division II

Men’s and Women’s Southeast | Sumter, SC | Tournament Page

  • Men’s Singles Champion: Jacopo Denitto, Flagler 
  • Women’s Singles Champion: Nadja Meier, Flagler
  • Men’s Doubles Champions: Justin Welz & Camilo Cano, Columbus State
  • Women’s Doubles Champions: Mariana Ramirez & Nikoline Gullacksen, Columbus State

Men’s and Women’s South | Lakeland, FL | Tournament Page

  • Men’s Singles Champion: Adam Lynch, Barry 
  • Women’s Singles Champion: Salma Djoubri, Lynn 
  • Men’s Doubles Champions: Jonathan Olive-Blanco & Gianmarco Amatiste, Lynn 
  • Women’s Doubles Champions: Deniza Marcinkevica & Greta Schieroni, Lynn 

Men’s and Women’s West | Fresno, CA | Tournament Page

  • Men’s Singles Champion: Nico Ramirez, Biola University
  • Women’s Singles Champion: Cristiana Miruna Tudor, Azusa Pacific
  • Men’s Doubles Champions: Miha Velicki & Elias Walter, Azusa Pacific
  • Women’s Doubles Champions: Sophie Rachor & Tiffany Carrillo, Concordia (Irvine)

Women’s Central | Univ. of Central Oklahoma | Tournament Page

  • Women’s Singles Champion: Jazmin Zamorano, Nebraska, Kearney
  • Women’s Doubles Champions: Blythe Buntrock & Pete Komada, Central Oklahoma

Women’s South Central | Dallas Baptist | Tournament Page

  • Women’s Singles Champion: Alessa Maier, Texas A&M (Kingsville)
  • Women’s Doubles Champions: Sofia Teran & Isabella Rios, Dallas Baptist 

Division III

Men’s South | Sewanee | Tournament Page

  • Men’s Singles Champion: Jordan Theron, Sewanee 
  • Men’s Doubles Champion: Nolan Shah & Dean Kamenev, Emory

Men’s Northwest | Walla Walla | Tournament Page

  • Men’s Singles Champion: Eli Mizerski, George Fox
  • Men’s Doubles Champion: Hunter Fujimori and Zach Moore, George Fox

Women’s New England | Middletown | Tournament Page

  • Women’s Singles Champion: Matia Cristiani, Babson 
  • Women’s Doubles Champion: Olivia Soffer & Matia Cristiani, Babson 

Women’s Northeast | Hobart College | Tournament Page

Women’s Southeast | University of Mary Washington | Tournament Page

  • Women’s Singles Champion: Danna Taylor, Carnegie Mellon
  • Women’s Doubles Champion: Ashley Chang & Sophia Kim, Johns Hopkins

Women’s Central | Washington University (St. Louis) | Tournament Page

  • Women’s Singles Champion: Sylwia Mikos, University of Chicago 
  • Women’s Doubles Champions: Rena Lin & Oliwia Mikos, University of Chicago 

Women’s Midwest | Whitewater | Tournament Page 

  • Women’s Singles Champion: Lauryn Douglas, Bethel 
  • Women’s Doubles Champions: Kelsey Dorr & Sofia Walker, St. Catherine 

Women’s Southwest | Abilene | Tournament Page

  • Women’s Singles Champion: Ruth Hill, Trinity (TX)
  • Women’s Doubles Champions: Ruth Hill & Olivia Kim, Trinity (TX)


Men’s and Women’s Southeast | Georgetown, KY | Tournament Page

  • Men’s Singles Champion: Jan Silhavy, Lindsey Wilson 
  • Men’s Doubles Champions: Vitor Ferreira & Julian Parada, Cumberland 
  • Women’s Singles Champion: Anastasiia Vorobiova, Lindsey Wilson
  • Women’s Doubles Champions: Nicole Viljoen and Liliana Drukerova, Union College (KY)

Men’s and Women’s Central-West | Salina | Tournament Page

  • Men’s Singles Champion: TBD
  • Men’s Doubles Champions: TBD
  • Women’s Singles Champions: TBD
  • Women’s Doubles Champions: TBD


Men’s and Women’s Southeast | Albertville | Tournament Page

  • Men’s Singles Champion: Hugo Car, Eastern Florida State
  • Men’s Doubles Champions: Hugo Car & Alexander Achour, Eastern Florida State
  • Women’s Singles Champion: Kitti Nemeth, Abraham Baldwin
  • Women’s Doubles Champions: Julianne Legg & Sophie Smith, Coastal Alabama

Women’s Southern California | Fullerton | Tournament Page

  • Women’s Singles Champion: Emily Thieme, Riverside City 
  • Women’s Doubles Champions: Janine Kremling & Emily Thieme, Riverside City 
- Advertisement -
College Tennis Alumni Network


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here