Get Prepared for the 23rd Edition of the USTA Collegiate Wheelchair Tennis Championships


LAKE NONA, FL – The 22nd annual USTA Collegiate Wheelchair Tennis Championships are set to get underway from the USTA National Campus in Lake Nona, Florida later this week as ten teams from across the country meet for a chance to be crowned National Champions.

Taking place from April 12-15, this year’s field of teams participating in the team competition includes; Alabama, Auburn, Boise State, Clemson, Houston, Michigan, Michigan State, San Diego State, Virginia, and Virginia Tech.

The ten-team field will mark an all-time high in the tournament’s history as wheelchair tennis at the collegiate level continues to grow across campuses nationwide.

One of these teams will be six-time defending USTA Collegiate Wheelchair Tennis National Champions, Alabama. The Crimson Tide have been the model of consistency at these championships and have continued to blaze trails in the collegiate wheelchair space, opening a brand new facility dedicated to wheelchair tennis in 2022 where they have hosted several dual matches since.

Of these teams competing in 2023, seven competed in the 2022 championships, leaving Boise State, San Diego State, and Virginia Tech as the three teams who were absent in 2022 to compete this year.

All of the ten teams who will be in Lake Nona are made up of wheelchair users who are either students, staff or somehow affiliated with the colleges and universities that they are playing for. This results in a unique roster makeup of both younger and more experienced players who are all competing under their colleges or universities affiliation.

For the first time in 2023, the two team finalists will return to the USTA National Campus this coming May to complete their National Championship match during the NCAA DI, DII, and DIII National Championships.

In addition to the team competition set to take place this week, players will also be able to compete in a singles competition that will separate players into three different coed flights based on their general skill level.

Alabama’s Thomas Venos took home the ‘A’ flight individual championship in 2022 and was part of the 32 individual competitors who represented 12 schools in another record-setting player field last year.

These individual matches follow a best-of-three format with a 10-point match tiebreak being in place in lieu of the third set. No-ad scoring will also be used in individual match play.

All of the matches during the 2023 USTA Collegiate Wheelchair Tennis Championships are set to be live-streamed through the PlaySight platform. Be sure to also follow along with the ITA and USTA social media channels as they highlight all of the action taking place at the National Campus this week.

Continue reading below for more information about the 2023 USTA Collegiate Wheelchair Championships:

Competing Teams

  • University of Alabama
  • University of Michigan
  • Michigan State University
  • Auburn University
  • Clemson University
  • Boise State University
  • Virginia Tech University
  • University of Virginia
  • University of Houston
  • San Diego State University

Event Details

  • Site: USTA National Campus
  • Location: Lake Nona, Florida
  • Dates: April 12-15, 2023
  • Time: 10 am (ET)
  • Price: Free to Attend

  • The live streams from the 2023 USTA Collegiate Wheelchair Championships can be found here.
  • The live stats from the 2023 USTA Collegiate Wheelchair Championships can be found here.
  • The draw for the 2023 USTA Collegiate Wheelchair Championships can be found here.
- Advertisement -
College Tennis Alumni Network


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here