The 2023 ITA Division II National Women’s Team Indoor Championship All-Tournament Team, Most Outstanding Player, and Team Sportsmanship Award were announced on Tuesday, as voted on by the participating head coaches.

No. 1 Singles: Shaline Pipa, Hawaii Pacific (2-0)

  • DNF Anna Novikova (UIndy) 6-1, 4-5
  • def Deniz Khazan (Barry) 6-3, 7-5
  • def Viktorie Wojcikova (North Georgia) 6-1, 6-3

No. 2 Singles: Elodie Busson, Hawaii Pacific (3-0)

  • def Margarita Andreiuk (UIndy) 6-0, 6-1
  • def Dinara Alloyarova (Barry) 6-4, 6-7, 6-3
  • def Johanna Lippert (North Georgia) 6-3, 6-4

No. 3 Singles: Luzia Obermeier, Saint Leo (2-0)

  • def Dana Heimen (Flagler) 3-6, 6-3, 7-5
  • def Annika Markvartova (North Georgia) 7-6, 6-2
  • DNF Xiyao Wang (Barry) 6-1, 3-2

No. 4 Singles: Selina Pichler, Barry (2-0)

  • DNF Alexis Bernthal (Nebraska Kearney) 6-7
  • def Abigail Wild (Hawaii Pacific) 4-6, 7-5, 6-2
  • def Lavinia Lancellotii (Saint Leo) 6-1, 6-3

No. 5 Singles: Daniela Farfan, Barry (2-0)

  • DNF Masha Hatouka (Nebraska Kearney) 6-4, 5-2
  • def Nicole Ballach (Hawaii Pacific) 6-2, 6-0
  • def Kamilya Shailina (Saint Leo) 6-1, 6-1

No. 6 Singles: Svetlana Teterina, North Georgia 2-0)

  • DNF Tizia Brocks (Central Oklahoma) 6-4, 4-4
  • def Camila Keller (Saint Leo) 7-6, 6-2
  • def Rikona Murakami (Hawaii Pacific) 6-0, 6-3

No. 1 Doubles: Shaline Pipa & Marleen Tilgner, Hawaii Pacific (3-0)

  • def Anna Novikova/Sofia Sharonova (UIndy) 7-5
  • def Daniela Farfan/Deniz Khazan (Barry) 6-3
  • def Johanna Lippert/Viktorie Wojcikova (North Georgia) 6-4

No. 2 Doubles: Elodie Busson & Abigail Wild, Hawaii Pacific (3-0)

  • def Margarita Andreiuk/Maria Fiacan (UIndy) 6-1
  • def Dinara Alloyarova/Nathalia Gasparin (Barry) 6-3
  • def Angelina Linnikova/Svetlana Teterina (North Georgia) 6-2

No. 3 Doubles: Jade Bellegy & Claudia Borbon Roca, Saint Leo (1-1)

  • def Addie Sky Breunich/Laura Jipescu (Flagler) 7-6
  • DNF Valentina Ascarrunz/Ashley Moinard (North Georgia) 4-2
  • loss Selina Pichler/Xiyao Wang (Barry) 1-6

Most Outstanding Player: Shaline Pipa, Hawaii Pacific

As one of the leaders of the Hawaii Pacific team, Shaline Pipa elevated her game to a new level this past weekend in Kearney, finishing 2-0 from the No. 1 Singles position on the weekend and helping the Sharks to a fourth-place finish at the National Team Indoor Championships. Dominating the entire weekend, Pipa’s biggest win came against the No. 1 ranked singles player in the nation, Deniz Khazan (Barry), which marked Khazan’s first singles loss against a Division II opponent over her career at Barry.

This is the 1st year in which a Most Outstanding Player Award has been given out at the Division II National Team Indoor Championships.

Team Sportsmanship Award: University of Nebraska Kearney

Nebraska Kearney has been awarded the 2023 Division II Women’s Team Sportsmanship Award after their great display of sportsmanship at the 2023 ITA Division II National Women’s Team Indoor Championship.

Nebraska Kearney now joins Central Oklahoma (2022), Angelo State (2021), and Hawaii Pacific (2020) as winners of this prestigious Award. The award is presented annually to the team that displays exceptional sportsmanship, character, and ethical conduct during the national championship event.

- Advertisement -
College Tennis Alumni Network


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here