SAN DIEGO, CA. – The 2022 Intercollegiate Tennis Association (“ITA”) Fall season is set to conclude this week as the nation’s best collegiate players will converge in San Diego, California for the playing of the 2022 ITA National Fall Championships

Here is what you need to know as players prepare to play in the most storied National Championship of the collegiate tennis fall season:

What Is the ITA National Fall Championships?

The ITA National Fall Championships mark the crescendo of the collegiate tennis fall season, bringing together the nation’s top singles and doubles players to battle it out for the most prestigious individual honors over the course of the fall season. 

As one of the longest ongoing National Championships on the ITA calendar, the ITA National Fall Championships have been a key aspect of the college tennis landscape, beginning in 1978 on the men’s side of play and 1984 on the women’s side. 

When Is the 2022 ITA National Fall Championships?

Play from the 2022 ITA National Fall Championships is set to begin on Wednesday, November 2nd from the Barnes Tennis Center in San Diego, California.

The Finals will be played on November 6th from Stadium Court at the Barnes Tennis Center. 

How Can I Watch the Action?

All of the action from the 2022 ITA National Fall Championships will be streamed on the Cracked Racquets YouTube Page from the first serve until the last. Links to the live streams can be found on the National Fall Championships Event Page

What Is the Format?

The format of the National Championship will be single elimination with a 32 player/team draw for both singles and doubles play. 

Singles play will be a best of three set format, with players playing a full third set to decide the match. In doubles, play will also be a best of three set format, with the third set being a ten point tiebreaker to decide a winner. 

Who Are Previous Winners?

In 2021 August Holmgren (San Diego) and Eryn Cayetano (USC) took home the Men’s and Women’s Singles Titles, while in doubles, Fiona Crawley and Elizabeth Scotty (North Carolina) as well as Robert Cash and Matej Vocel (Ohio State) were crowned National Champions. 

They join the prestigious list of previous winners which includes the likes of Steve Johnson (USC, 2009), Nuno Borges (Mississippi State, 2017), John Isner/Luis Flores (Georgia, 2006), Robin Anderson (UCLA, 2012), Alexa Graham (North Carolina, 2020), and Kaitlyn Christian/Sabrina Santamaria (USC, 2011-12).

How Are Non-Division I Players Competing?

As one of the most unique aspects of the ITA National Fall Championships, Non-Division I players and teams are awarded a wild card into the Main Draw based on finish in the 2022 ITA Cup

The small college representatives this season include; Takeshi Taco (Cowley), Deniz Khazan (Barry), Vishwa Aduru and James Hopper (Case Western Reserve), and Fatima Bizhukova and Natalie Espinal (Nova Southeastern).

What Does It Mean to Win the National Fall Championships?

Outside of the prestige it means to be crowned the National Fall Champion, winners of this tournament have historically gone on to have great Spring seasons, climbing up the ITA Tennis-Point Collegiate Tennis National Rankings. 

In 2021, all four National Fall Champions began the 2022 Spring season as the top-ranked player or team in the ITA Tennis-Point National Rankings. Additionally, both Men’s Champions would go on to also reach the National Finals at the 2022 NCAA Singles and Doubles Championships in the Spring.

- Advertisement -
College Tennis Alumni Network


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here