The 2021 ITA Division I National Women’s Team Indoor Championship All-Tournament Team and Most Outstanding Player were announced on Wednesday, as voted on by the eight participating head coaches.

No. 1 Singles: Jessica Failla, Pepperdine
def Kenya Jones (Georgia Tech) 6-3 6-3
DNF Alexa Graham (North Carolina) 7-5 5-2
def Abbey Forbes (UCLA) 3-6 7-6(4) 6-4

No. 2 Singles: Sara Daavettila, North Carolina
def Kolie Allen (Ohio State) 6-2 6-0
DNF Shiori Fukuda (Pepperdine) 6-2 1-6 4-2
def Peyton Stearns (Texas) 6-3 6-4 at #1

No. 3 Singles: Jada Hart, UCLA
def Lulu Sun (Texas) 1-6 6-2 6-4
def Lexi Ryngler (Pepperdine) 6-1 6-3

No. 4 Singles: Elizabeth Scotty, North Carolina
def Lisa Hofbauer (Ohio State) 6-4 6-3
loss Taisiya Pachkaleva (Pepperdine) 6-4 6-0
def Charlotte Chavatipon (Texas) 4-6 7-6(3) 6-2

No. 5 Singles: Kylie Collins, Texas
def Makenna Jones (North Carolina) 7-5 6-3
def Annette Goulak (UCLA) 7-5 7-6(1)

No. 6 Singles: Fiona Crawley, North Carolina
DNF Luna Domet (Ohio State) 6-4 5-1
def Nikki Redelijk (Pepperdine) 6-3 6-4
def Fernanda Labrana (Texas) 3-6 6-1 6-4

No. 1 Doubles: Lulu Sun/Kylie Collins, Texas
def Clarissa Hand/Maria Shusharina (Northwestern) 6-3
def Elysia Bolton/Jada Hart (UCLA) 6-4
def Sara Daavettila/Alexa Graham (North Carolina) 6-2

No. 2 Doubles: Anna Turati/Fernanda Labrana, Texas 
def Christina Hand/Briana Crowley (Northwestern) 6-4
def Annette Goulak/Vivian Wolff (UCLA) 6-3
DNF Cameron Morra/Elizabeth Scotty (North Carolina) 4-2

No. 3 Doubles: Abi Altick/Taylor Johnson, UCLA
def Marta Perez Mur/Charlotte Chavatipon (Texas) 6-2
def Taisiya Pachkaleva/Lisa Zaar (Pepperdine) 6-2
def Lora Boggs/Daniella Medvedeva (Oklahoma State) 6-0

ITA DI Women’s Indoors Most Outstanding Player – Sara Daavettila, North Carolina

For the second year in the row, Sara Daavettila is named the ITA DI Women’s Indoors Most Outstanding Player. Daavettila is the only player in the award’s history to win the award more than once, let alone three times. In 2018, she was named the Most Outstanding Player after the Tar Heels won the Indoors Title.

Splitting her time between No. 1 and No. 2 singles, Daavettila did not lose a singles match during the tournament. Her two wins were decisive — winning both in straight sets over No. 66 Peyton Stearns and Ohio State’s Kolie Allen. She also was close to defeating No. 12 Shiori Fukuda before the match was called. 

Past winners of the Most Outstanding Player award are: Kristen Flower, Georgia Tech (2008); Chelsey Gullickson, Georgia (2009); Maria Mosolova, Northwestern (2010); Hilary Barte, Stanford (2011); Robin Anderson, UCLA (2012); Whitney Kay, North Carolina (2013); Hanna Mar, Duke (2014); Caroline Price, North Carolina (2015); Olivia Hauger, California (2016); Ingrid Neel, Florida (2017) and Sara Daavettila, North Carolina (2018), Katarina Jokic, Georgia (2019), and Sara Daavettila, North Carolina (2020).

About the ITA Division I National Women’s Team Indoor Championship

The ITA Division I National Women’s Team Indoor Championship is held annually each February and was inaugurated in 1988. This year, the tournament featured 8 participating teams — the 7 schools who won both of their matches during the 2021 ITA Kick-Off Weekend, and the host site school. The tournament is held over three days and begins on Friday with quarterfinals, followed by semifinals on Saturday, and finals on Sunday.

- Advertisement -
College Tennis Alumni Network


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here