2019 ITA NCAA Division II Regional Awards Announced

Nicolo De Fraia
Rollins College's Nicolo De Fraia was named the NCAA Division II South Region's Senior Player of the Year.

TEMPE, Ariz. (May 15) – The 2019 ITA NCAA Division II men’s and women’s regional award winners were announced on Wednesday. 

The ITA sponsors the following awards: Wilson/ITA Coach of the Year, ITA Assistant Coach of the Year, Arthur Ashe Leadership & Sportsmanship Award, ITA Rookie of the Year, ITA Player to Watch, ITA Most Improved Senior, ITA Senior Player of the Year and ITA Community Service Award.

Below are the men’s and women’s regional award winners. The national award winners will be announced on May 21. 

Wilson/ITA Coach of the Year


Jerome Simon; Mercyhurst University (Atlantic)
Omar El Kheshen; Southwest Baptist University (Central)
Gregory Coache; Southern New Hampshire University (East)
Bryan Morrow; Wayne State University (Midwest)
George Samuel; Barry University (South)
Joshua Cobble; Cameron University (South Central)
Michael Cabana; Wingate University (Southeast)
Mark Bohren; Azusa Pacific University (West)

Shari Reed; University of Charleston (Atlantic)
Jaron Maestas; University of Central Oklahoma (Central)
Owen Kassimir; NYIT (East)
Shelia Snyder; Wayne State University (Midwest)
Jeff Beaman; University of West Alabama (South)
Chris Bizot; Angelo State University (South Central)
Michael Cabana; Wingate University (Southeast)
Sandy Kriezel; Cal State Los Angeles (West)

ITA Assistant Coach of the Year


George Frazier; West Liberty University (Atlantic)
Carlos Crisostomo; Harding University (Central)
Fabio Minami; Queens College NY (East)
Bob Jackson; Wayne State University (Midwest)
Jean-Baptiste Mateo; Lynn University (South)
Jacob Carey; Cameron University (South Central)
Brigit Folland; Lenoir-Rhyne University (Southeast)
Kirby Ronning; Azusa Pacific University (West)

Alec Foote; University of Charleston (Atlantic)
Lorena Rivas; Northwest Missouri State University (Central)
Jorge Rodriguez; Grand Valley State University (Midwest)
Daniel Albers; Nova Southeastern University (South)
Vanessa Tavares; Texas A&M University Kingsville (South Central)
Marcy Huck; University of North Georgia (Southeast)
Irs Raileanu; Azusa Pacific University (West)

Arthur Ashe Leadership & Sportsmanship Award


Jason Prince; University of Charleston (Atlantic)
Marcel Castello; Southwest Baptist University (Central)
Marcus Lawrence; Franklin Pierce University (East)
Taylor Vane; Wayne State University (Midwest)
Carlos Meneses; Palm Beach Atlantic University (South)
Dillon Pineda; Midwestern State University (South Central)
Robin Moeller; Georgia College (Southeast)

Viola Lugmayr; Slippery Rock University (Atlantic)
Jill Van Den Dungen; Southwest Baptist University (Central)
Nicole Heiniger; Grand Valley State University (Midwest)
Alahna Reto; Florida Tech (South)
Paola Carpio; St. Edward’s University (South Central)
Michela Verpelli; Wingate University (Southeast)
Jahan Bayramova; Holy Names University (West)

ITA Rookie of the Year


Nils Plutat; Edinboro University (Atlantic)
Adham Gaber; Southwest Baptist University (Central)
Kareem Rashad; Queens College NY (East)
Maximillian Witthaus Robolledo; University of Indianapolis (Midwest)
Bruna Faletto; Saint Leo University (South)
Anish Sriniketh; St. Edward’s University (South Central)
Tolunay Sumer; Wingate University (Southeast)
Vantentin Masse; Hawaii Pacific University (West)

Sangeeta Roopan; Mercyhurst University (Atlantic)
Isabella Dunlap; University of Central Oklahoma (Central)
Barbara Quagliardi; NYIT (East)
Nikol Alexeeva; University of Indianapolis (Midwest)
Natalie Espinal; Nova Southeastern University (South)
Kate Malazonia; St. Edward’s University (South Central)
Camilla Ciaccia; Wingate University (Southeast)
Elodie Busson; Hawaii Pacific University (West)

ITA Player to Watch


Arseniy Sklyarov; Mercyhurst University (Atlantic)
Stuart Rehfuss; Southern Arkansas University (Central)
William Lindqvist; Concordia College NY (East)
Niklas Karcz; Wayne State University (Midwest)
Lucca Baptista; Lynn University (South)
Angel Palacios; Midwestern State University (South Central)
Ryan Gaskin; University of North Georgia (Southeast)
Alessandro Guiliato; University of Hawaii Hilo (West)

Kierstin Hensley; West Virginia State University (Atlantic)
Jill Van Den Dungen; Southwest Baptist University (Central)
Angelica Karlsson Hantzis; Concordia College NY (East)
Yu-Ning Lee; Drury University (Midwest)
Marta Vicens Miquel; Saint Leo University (South)
Valentina Gonzalez; Angelo State University (South Central)
Annie McCullough; Tusculum University (Southeast)
Petra Ivankovic; Azusa Pacific University (West)

ITA Most Improved Senior


Mauricio Santos; Edinboro University (Atlantic)
Raul Caballero; Southwest Baptist University (Central)
Cosme Jubera; Queens College NY (East)
Robert White; Missouri St. Louis (Midwest)
Daniel Ventura; Barry University (South)
Liam Fraboulet; Western New Mexico University (South Central)
Hugues Renaud; University of North Georgia (Southeast)
Maxime Gayte; Hawaii Pacific University (West)

Kayla Frost; Mercyhurst University (Atlantic)
Arisa Takanashi; Harding University (Central)
Tadi Mrewa; Concordia College NY (East)
Dasha Kuznetsova; Wayne State University (Midwest)
Carolin Schmidt; Barry University (South)
Valentina Martinez; St. Edward’s University (South Central)
Holly Bennett; University of North Georgia (Southeast)
Klara Thell-Lenntorp; Academy of Art University (West)

ITA Senior Player of the Year


Gyorgy Agoston; Southwest Baptist University (Central)
Tiago Fernandes; Southern New Hampshire University (East)
Alan Braschinsky; Lewis University (Midwest)
Nicolo De Fraia; Rollins College (South)
Joey Tscherne; Metropolitan State University (South Central)
KP Pannu; Columbus State University (Southeast)
Thomas Dafcik; Point Loma Nazarene University (West)

Kristine Gegeshidze; University of Charleston (Atlantic)
Kornelia Staniszewska; Augustana University (Central)
Madi Ballard; Grand Valley State University (Midwest)
Leolia Jeanjean; Lynn University (South)
Sarah Frendo; Cameron University (South Central)
Michela Verpelli; Wingate University (Southeast)
Ashley Chao; UC San Diego (West)

ITA Community Service Award


Queens College NY (East)
University of Illinois, Springfield (Midwest)
Palm Beach Atlantic University (South)
Midwestern State University (South Central)
University of North Georgia (Southeast)
Hawaii Pacific University (West)

Millersville University (Atlantic)
Missouri Western State University (Central)
Molloy College (East)
Wayne State University (Midwest)
Saint Leo University (South)
Texas A&M University Kingsville (South Central)
University of North Georgia (Southeast)
Fresno Pacific University (West)

The NCAA Division II Championships are scheduled for May 21-25 at Sanlando Park in Altamonte Springs, Fla. 

About the Intercollegiate Tennis Association
The Intercollegiate Tennis Association (ITA) is committed to serving college tennis and returning the leaders of tomorrow. As the governing body of college tennis, the ITA oversees men’s and women’s varsity tennis at NCAA Divisions I, II and III, NAIA and Junior/Community College divisions. The ITA administers a comprehensive awards and rankings program for men’s and women’s varsity players, coaches and teams in all divisions, providing recognition for their accomplishments on and off the court. For more information on the ITA, visit the ITA website at www.itatennis.com , like the ITA on Facebook or follow @ITA_Tennis on Twitter and Instagram.www.itatennis.com.

- Advertisement -
College Tennis Alumni Network


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here