2019 ITA NCAA Division III Regional Awards Announced


TEMPE, Ariz. (May 14) – The 2019 ITA NCAA Division III men’s and women’s regional award winners were announced on Tuesday. 

The ITA sponsors the following awards: Wilson/ITA Coach of the Year, ITA Assistant Coach of the Year, Arthur Ashe Leadership & Sportsmanship Award, ITA Rookie of the Year, ITA Player to Watch, ITA Most Improved Senior, ITA Senior Player of the Year and ITA Community Service Award.

Below are the men’s and women’s regional award winners. The national award winners will be announced on May 20. 

Wilson/ITA Coach of the Year


Todd Helbling; University of Mary Washington (Atlantic-South)
Scott Thielke; Kenyon College (Central)
Ben Lamanna; Brandeis University (Northeast)
Geoff Roche; University of Redlands (West)

Jeremy Loomis; Swarthmore College (Atlantic-South)
Jay Tee; University of Chicago (Central)
Mike Fried; Wesleyan University (Northeast)
Dave Schwarz; Claremont-Mudd-Scripps (West)

ITA Assistant Coach of the Year


Doug Corbett; University of Mary Washington (Atlantic-South)
Andrew Gregory; DePauw University (Central)
Margarita Kotok; University of Rochester (Northeast)
George Rivers; Trinity University (West)

Barbora Krtickova; Emory University (Atlantic-South)
Curt Howard; Rose-Hulman Institute of Tech (Central)
Ben Shapiro; Wesleyan (Northeast)
Nyssa Peele; Claremont-Mudd-Scripps (West)

Arthur Ashe Leadership & Sportsmanship Award


Karel Raska; Drew University (Atlantic-South)
Chase Johnson; Gustavus Adolphus College (Central)
Julian Gordy; Claremont-Mudd-Scripps (West)

Megan Galle; DePauw University (Central)
Mary Hill; Whitman College (West)

ITA Rookie of the Year


Antonio Mora; Emory University (Atlantic-South)
Ian Yi; Kalamazoo College (Central)
Noah Lilienthal; Wesleyan University (Northeast)
Luke Lemaitre; George Fox University (West)

Danna Taylor; Carnegie Mellon University (Atlantic-South)
Sydney Jackson; Hope College (Central)
Jackie Bukzin; Amherst College (Northeast)
Maria Lyven; Pomona-Pitzer College (West)

ITA Player to Watch


Hayden Cassone; Emory University (Atlantic-South)
Ethan Hillis; Washington University St. Louis (Central)
Andrew Finkelman; Wesleyan University (Northeast)
Jack Katzman; Claremont-Mudd-Scripps (West)

Defne Olcay; Emory University (Atlantic-South)
Claire Hallock; Hope College (Central)
Heather Boehm; Middlebury College (Northeast)
Rebecca Berger; Claremont-Mudd-Scripps (West)

ITA Most Improved Senior


Patrick Hughes; University of Mary Washington (Atlantic-South)
Patrick Whaling; Gustavus Adolphus College (Central)
Joshua Quijano; Bates College (Northeast)
Wilson Lambeth; Trinity University (West)

Jamie Vizelman; Carnegie Mellon University (Atlantic-South)
Maggie Sweeney; Kenyon College (Central)
Leah Bush; Williams College (Northeast)
Kana Moriyama; Caltech (West)

ITA Senior Player of the Year


Jonathan Jemison; Emory University (Atlantic-South)
Patrick Whaling; Gustavus Adolphus College (Central)
Grant Urken; Bowdoin College (Northeast)
Wilson Lambeth; Trinity University (West)

Daniela Lopez; Emory University (Atlantic-South)
Lauren O’Malley; John Carroll University (Central)
Victoria Yu; Wesleyan University (Northeast)
Caroline Casper; Pomona-Pitzer College (West)

ITA Community Service Award


Carnegie Mellon University (Atlantic-South)
Case Western Reserve University (Central)
Trinity University (West)

Emory & Henry College (Atlantic-South)
Allegheny College (Central)
Vassar College (Northeast)
Pacific Lutheran University (West)

The NCAA Division III Championships are scheduled for May 20-26 at Stowe Stadium in Kalamazoo, Mich.

About the Intercollegiate Tennis Association
The Intercollegiate Tennis Association (ITA) is committed to serving college tennis and returning the leaders of tomorrow. As the governing body of college tennis, the ITA oversees men’s and women’s varsity tennis at NCAA Divisions I, II and III, NAIA and Junior/Community College divisions. The ITA administers a comprehensive awards and rankings program for men’s and women’s varsity players, coaches and teams in all divisions, providing recognition for their accomplishments on and off the court. For more information on the ITA, visit the ITA website at www.itatennis.com , like the ITA on Facebook or follow @ITA_Tennis on Twitter and Instagram.www.itatennis.com.

- Advertisement -
College Tennis Alumni Network


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here