Stanford’s Dick Gould headlines 2006 ITA Men’s Collegiate Hall of Fame Induction Ceremonies


The Intercollegiate Tennis Association will induct nine new members into its ITA Men’s Collegiate Tennis Hall of Fame during this month’s NCAA Championships at Stanford University.

The Class of 2006 consists of coaches Dick Gould (Stanford) and Bill Wright (California and Arizona), and players Jeff Borowiak (UCLA), Tom Edlefsen (Southern California), Dan Goldie (Stanford), Matt Mitchell (Stanford), Jared Palmer (Stanford), Richey Reneberg (SMU) and Ferdie Taygan (UCLA).

This year’s ceremony will take place on the evening of May 24 at Stanford’s Arrillaga Family Sports Center. A reception will begin at 6 pm and the dinner and ceremony begins at 7 pm. (General public tickets are $50. To hold a space, a check payable for $50 per person to “Stanford University” should be mailed no later than May 15 to: Dick Gould, Director of Tennis, Department of Athletics, Stanford University, Arrillaga Family Sports Center, Stanford, CA 94305-6150.)

The nine inductees this year are the most in a single class since 1985. Stanford’s four inductees equals the most to be inducted from the same school since Southern California had four in the inaugural class in 1983.

Stanford’s Gould highlights this year’s ceremonies. Gould is widely regarded as not only the top collegiate tennis coach of all time, but among the best in any college sport. He guided the Cardinal to a record 17 NCAA team championships while coaching 10 NCAA singles champions and seven doubles champs during his 38 years at the helm. He was twice named Wilson/ITA National Coach of the Decade for the eighties and nineties. He retired from coaching in 2004 with a career record of 776-148 and was an amazing 88-11 (.888) in NCAA tournament matches.

Wright retired from Arizona last year after 27 years of coaching. He also coached at Denver, Colorado State, Illinois and California. He enjoyed some of his greatest success at Cal. He was named Wilson/ITA National Coach of the Year in 1979 and in ’80 he led the Golden Bears to the USTA-ITA National Team Indoor title and NCAA final.

Borowiak was a three-time ITA All-America for UCLA from 1969-71. He won the NCAA singles title in ’70 and claimed the doubles crown (with Harold Rahim) in ’71. Borowiak helped the Bruins to back-to-back titles in ’70-71.

Edlefsen is the fifth player from USC’s legendary ’63 squad to be inducted into the ITA Hall of Fame. He was a three-time ITA All-America from 1963-65 and also was ranked in the top 10 in the U.S. in singles three different times in the sixties.

Stanford’s Goldie, Mitchell and Palmer are the 13th, 14th and 15th Cardinal players to be inducted into the ITA Hall of Fame. Goldie played on two NCAA championship teams in ’83 and ’86 and earned ITA All-America honors three times from ’84-86. He also captured the ’85 ITA National Indoor and ’86 NCAA singles crowns. Mitchell won the ’77 NCAA singles title and helped the Cardinal to NCAA back-to-back team titles in ’77-78. He was also a three-time ITA All-American. Palmer captured the ’91 NCAA singles title. He went on to win two Grand Slam doubles titles (and two mixed), reach No. 1 in the ATP doubles rankings and play for the U.S. Davis Cup team several times over an eight-year span.

SMU’s Reneberg was the ITA National Player of the Year in ’86 when he reached the NCAA singles final. He also captured the singles title at the ’86 ITA All-American Championships and earned All-America honors three times from ’85-87. Reneberg went on to win two Grand Slam doubles titles and was ranked in the U.S. top ten eight times. He was ranked as high as No. 20 in the ATP singles rankings and No. 1 in doubles during his career.

UCLA’s Taygan was the only the fifth player to earn ITA All-America honors four times during his career (1974-77). He helped the Bruins to NCAA titles in ’75 and ’76 and won the NCAA doubles crown with Peter Fleming in ’76. As a pro he won the ’82 French Open doubles title.

Players are eligible for election to the ITA Hall of Fame 15 years after their last collegiate match and coaches are eligible following retirement. The main criteria for election are college accomplishments as well as honors earned after college. College tennis legend Dan Magill serves as curator for the ITA Hall of Fame, which is housed at the University of Georgia.

The ITA Men’s Tennis Hall of Fame, which includes over 1,800 rare photos, inducted its first class in 1983 and has inducted more than 160 players, coaches and contributors since then. Members include the late Arthur Ashe (UCLA), Jimmy Connors (UCLA), John McEnroe (Stanford) and Stan Smith (Southern California). The ITA Women’s Collegiate Tennis Hall of Fame is located at the College of William & Mary in Williamsburg, Va.

- Advertisement -
College Tennis Alumni Network


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here