Full Bracket | Match Replay | Box Score

St. Louis, Mo. – For the second time in the past three years, the University of Chicago Maroon’s have been crowned NCAA Division III Men’s Tennis National Champions after taking down Claremont-Mudd-Scripps in today’s championship match at the Dwight Davis Memorial Tennis Center on the campus of Washington University in St. Louis.

After winning their past 18 matches, UChicago came into the NCAA National Championship match as one of the hottest teams in all of college tennis, with their only loss to date coming against previously ranked No. 1 Case Western Reserve at the ITA National Team Indoor Championships back in February. Facing a foe in which they haven’t seen all season, CMS entered the Championship match with an even more impressive 25 match win streak, as the Stags also went unbeaten during the months of March and April.

With each team in such great form, doubles was of the upmost importance as each team wanted to set the tone in the match and secure a potential tie-breaking point(s) as it was clear from the start that this match would come down to the wire.

In doubles, it was the Maroons who took the early advantage taking two points with wins from the No. 1 and No. 3 doubles positions. However, denying the UChicago doubles sweep, CMS earned a victory at the No. 2 doubles position as Josh Kim and Advik Mareedu won 8-6 to make it 2-1 in favor of the Maroons heading into singles play.

As the match moved into singles, it would be the Stags who came out of the gate firing, winning four first sets across the six singles spots. With only three straight set wins in the match, CMS would take all three of these straight set wins to go ahead 4-2 in the match, needing just one more point to be crowned victors.

With all the momentum on their side, and with the final three matches either in a third set, or nearing a third set, the match came to a halt as lightning entered the vicinity of the tennis complex forcing play to be suspended for nearly two hours.

Using this lengthy break as a chance to reset, it was all UChicago once play resumed, with many players rattling off numerous straight games to get the Maroon’s right back into the match. After winning in a third set on courts No. 2 and No. 4, all eyes now turned to court No. 3 as Arjun Asokumar (UChicago) was battling in a third set with Matthew Robinson (CMS).

Coming off of a loss in the second set, Asokumar didn’t let that set stick with him long as he would go on to win 6-1 in the third set to clinch the National Championship with a 6-3, 5-7, 6-1 win to ensure the Maroon’s would lift the title once again.

The championship marks the fourth NCAA Championship in UChicago athletics history, and the second in as many days, as the UChicago women’s tennis team took home their first NCAA Championship just one day ago.

More information about the match and UChicago’s road to the final can be found below.

Box Score

Doubles No. 1 – Andrei Leonov and Pat Otero (UofC) def. Ian Freer and Matthew Robinson (CMS), 8-3
Doubles No. 2 – Josh Kim and Advik Mareedu (CMS) def. Derek Hsieh and Robert Zheng (UofC), 8-6
Doubles No. 3 – Jack Wong and Arjun Asokumar (UofC) def. Anirudh Reddy and Warrren Pham (CMS), 8-6

Singles No. 1 – Advik Mareedu (CMS) def. Emil Grantcharov (UofC), 6-2, 6-4
Singles No. 2 – Derek Hsieh (UofC) def. Ian Freer (CMS), 4-6, 7-5, 6-3
Singles No. 3 – Arjun Asokumar (UofC) def. Matthew Robinson (CMS), 6-3, 5-7, 6-1
Singles No. 4 – Ajer Sher (UofC) def. Anirudh Gupta (CMS), 6-3, 4-6, 6-4
Singles No. 5 – Tarm Rojanasoonthon (CMS) def. Kane Kelley (UofC), 7-5, 6-2
Singles No. 6 – Warrren Pham (CMS) def. Pat Otero (UofC), 6-2, 7-6 (5)

Road To The Final

Round One: bye
Round Two: defeated Concordia (TX) 5-2
Round Three: defeated WashU 5-0
Quarterfinals: defeated Denison 5-3
Semifinals: defeated Middlebury 5-2
Finals: defeated CMS 5-4

- Advertisement -
College Tennis Alumni Network


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here