Full Bracket | Match Replay | Box Score

St. Louis, Mo. – For the first time in program history, the University of Chicago Maroon’s have been crowned NCAA Division III Women’s Tennis National Champions after taking down Wesleyan (CT) in today’s championship match at the Dwight Davis Memorial Tennis Center on the campus of Washington University in St. Louis.

After winning the ITA National Team Indoor Championships in 2022 and 2023, but coming up as NCAA National Runners-Up each of the past two seasons, the Maroon’s were finally able to get over the hump in 2024, claiming the program’s first NCAA National Championship.

In a battle between two of the most dominant teams in all of Division III women’s tennis, UChicago entered the championship match with a 22-1 overall record and wins in their last 15 matches, while Wesleyan had gone unbeaten up until this point with a 22-0 record entering the match.

Recognizing the need for a fast start in doubles play, UChicago jumped out to an early lead on court No. 1 as Rena Lin and Oliwia Mikos won 8-6 from the top spot. With every doubles court counting to the team total, the teams would split the remaining two doubles points as UChicago won 8-5 on court No. 2 and Wesleyan won 8-7 (4) from the No. 3 doubles position

With the match score now sitting at 2-1 in favor of the Maroons, it would all come down to singles play where UChicago would need just three victories to clinch the title, while Wesleyan would be looking for four victories.

Riding the momentum from doubles, UChicago quickly took four first sets, setting them up well as they looked for just three more set victories to take home the national championship.

Winning in straight sets on court No. 1, it was Wesleyan who threw two punches winning in straight sets on courts No. 4 and No. 5 to draw the match at 3-3 overall.

Earning their fourth point from Sarena Biria on court No. 6, the Maroons championship clinch came from court No. 2 where Sylwia Mikos won 6-1, 6-7, 6-0 to clinch the national championship.

The championship marks just the third NCAA Championship in UChicago athletics history, with all three National Titles coming since the 2022 season. The Maroons will have a chance to make it four National Championships tomorrow as their men’s tennis team squares off with CMS for the Men’s Title.

More information about the match and UChicago’s road to the final can be found below.

Box Score

Doubles No. 1 – Rena Lin and Oliwia Mikos (UofC) def. Caitlyn Ferrante and Sarah Youngberg (WES), 8-6
Doubles No. 2 – Shianna Guo and Sylwia Mikos (UofC) def. Leila Epstein and Jacqueline Soloveychik (WES), 8-5
Doubles No. 3 – Lane Durkin and Renna Mohsen-Breen (WES) vs. Lauren Khou and Nika Vesely (UofC), 8-7 (4)

Singles No. 1 – Rena Lin (UofC) def. Caitlyn Ferrante (WES), 6-2, 6-2
Singles No. 2 – Sylwia Mikos (UofC) def. Sarah Youngberg (WES), 6-1, 6-7 (1), 6-0
Singles No. 3 – Nika Vesely (UofC) def. Leila Epstein (WES), 6-3, 5-7, 3-0 (unf.)
Singles No. 4 – Jacqueline Soloveychik (WES) def. Brooke Pedersen (UofC), 6-3, 6-2
Singles No. 5 – Lane Durkin (WES) def. Shianna Guo (UofC), 6-3, 7-6 (6)
Singles No. 6 – Sarena Biria (UofC) def. Renna Mohsen-Breen (WES), 6-1, 2-6, 6-4

Road To The Final

Round One: bye
Round Two: defeated Hope 5-0
Round Three: defeated Case Western Reserve 5-1
Quarterfinals: defeated Johns Hopkins 5-0
Semifinals: defeated Pomona Pitzer 5-4
Finals: defeated Wesleyan (CT) 5-3

- Advertisement -
College Tennis Alumni Network


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here