Full Bracket | ESPN+ Match Replay | Box Score

Stillwater, Okla. – For the first time in program history, the TCU Horned Frogs have been crowned NCAA Division I Men’s Tennis National Champions after taking down Texas 4-3 in today’s championship match at the Greenwood Tennis Center located on the campus of Oklahoma State University.

After being so close to reaching the pinnacle of Division I men’s tennis for the past few years, 2024 proved to be the magical year for the Horned Frogs and head coach David Roditi who brought home the first NCAA National Championship, outside of rifle, for TCU since 1983.

Marking the fourth time these two teams have met this season, the Horned Frogs new a strong start in doubles was needed in order to turn the tide of the match. In the previous three meetings, TCU’s lone win had come when they were victorious in doubles, while in the other two matches, they were swept after falling in doubles.

Leaning on their top two doubles teams, TCU earned victories at the No. 1 and No. 2 doubles positions as Jake Fearnley and Pedro Vives won 6-4 at the top spot and Sebastian Gorzny and Jack Pinnington won 6-3 from the No. 2 position. The third match would go unfinished with the match being on serve with Texas leading 5-4 over the TCU pairing of Duncan Chan and Lui Maxted.

With the momentum, the Horned Frogs knew that they couldn’t take their foot off the gas as they knew better than anyone how dangerous Texas was across their singles lineup and how hard of a test it would be to secure three points in singles play.

After three quick straight set matches, Texas winning on courts No. 3 and No. 6 and TCU winning on court No. 5, the match score was quickly drawn level at 2-2 with the remaining three matches all heading to a decisive third set.

In what might have been the biggest moment of the match, TCU’s Jack Pinnington came back from a set and a break deficit to the nation’s No. 2 overall player, Eliot Spizzirri, to win 2-6, 6-4, 6-2 at the No. 1 position. This would tie the match up at 3-3 after Texas clinched court No. 2 with a 4-6, 6-3, 6-1 victory by Micah Braswell turning all attention to court No. 5 where Sebastian Gorzny and Jonah Braswell were locked into thriller of a third set.

Trading breaks early, Gorzny would take a 5-3 lead over Braswell in the third and wouldn’t look back, breaking Braswell once again to close out the match and the national championship for TCU.

TCU becomes just the third Big 12 team to win the NCAA Division I Men’s Tennis National Championship since 2000 as they join Texas (2019) and Baylor (2004) as the most recent title winners from the conference.

More information about the match and TCU’s road to the final can be found below.

Box Score

Doubles No. 1 – Jake Fearnley and Pedro Vives (TCU) def. 26 Eliot Spizzirri and Siem Woldeab (TEX), 6-4
Doubles No. 2 – Sebastian Gorzny and Jack Pinnington (TCU) def. Micah Braswell and Eshan Talluri (TEX), 6-3
Doubles No. 3 – Lucas Brown and Cleeve Harper (TEX) vs. Duncan Chan and Lui Maxted (TCU), 5-4 (unf.)

Singles No. 1 – 13 Jack Pinnington (TCU) def. #2 Eliot Spizzirri (TEX), 2-6, 6-4, 6-2
Singles No. 2 – 5 Micah Braswell (TEX) def. #7 Jake Fearnley (TCU), 4-6, 6-3, 6-1
Singles No. 3 – 40 Gilles-Arnaud Bailly (TEX) def. #73 Pedro Vives (TCU), 6-2, 6-1
Singles No. 4 – 78 Lui Maxted (TCU) def. #90 Pierre-Yves Bailly (TEX), 6-2, 6-4
Singles No. 5 – 77 Sebastian Gorzny (TCU) def. #56 Jonah Braswell (TEX), 7-5, 4-6, 6-3
Singles No. 6 – Cleeve Harper (TEX) def. Tomas Jirousek (TCU), 6-3, 6-2

Road To The Final

Round One: defeated UC Irvine 4-0
Round Two: defeated Cornell 4-0
Round Three: defeated Duke 4-0
Quarterfinals: defeated Kentucky 5-0
Semifinals: defeated Ohio State 4-2
Finals: defeated Texas 4-3

- Advertisement -
College Tennis Alumni Network


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here